Home » News & Media » EPC elects new Chair, Vice Chair

EPC elects new Chair, Vice Chair


Erick Ambtman and Aneela Hussainaly were elected to the Chair and Vice Chair positions of the Edmonton Police Commission (EPC) today at its Annual General Meeting.

“The Edmonton Police Commission plays an important role in police governance and accountability, and I am humbled to lead this diverse group of talented individuals making a difference in our city. I look forward to another productive year on the Commission spent working to help make Edmonton a safer and more inclusive place for everyone.”
Erick Ambtman, chair of the Edmonton Police Commission

“I am honoured to be elected by my peers to help lead the Commission for the coming year. I look forward to working alongside my colleagues, collaborating on key matters of policy and community safety that can benefit all Edmontonians.”
Aneela Hussainaly, vice chair of the Edmonton Police Commission

“Serving on the Commission has been a truly rewarding experience that has provided me with great insight into policing and its integral role in supporting community safety. My time as Chair has been one of the major highlights of my career, and I’m excited to spend my final year on the Commission under Mr. Ambtman’s adroit leadership and passion for helping Edmontonians.”
John McDougall, past-chair of the Edmonton Police Commission

The Chair acts as the head representative of the Commission and has authority to preside over meetings. This position is an ex-officio member of all Commission-appointed committees with full voting privileges.

The Vice Chair can also preside over meetings and assume the responsibilities of the Chair in their absence.

Both positions are elected annually under Regulation of Alberta’s Police Act and the City of Edmonton’s Police Commission Bylaw, which requires a vote by the other commissioners.