

Guardian of Public Trust

January 11, 2023

MEMORANDUM

Purpose: Action ☐ Information ☐

TO: Edmonton Police Commission

FROM: Matthew Barker, Executive Director

Edmonton Police Commission

SUBJECT: 2024 Committee Membership

BRIEFING INTENT:

Establish Committee Membership for 2024

BACKGROUND:

Each January, Commissioners are asked to provide their committee preferences to determine membership for the calendar year. The Commission currently has five Standing Committees. As per policy, Standing Committees shall have a minimum of three members.

By policy, the Chair is an ex-officio member of each committee. In 2023, a motion was put forward by the Commission to make the Councillor appointees to the Commission ex-officio members of each committee to assist with ensuring quorum. For 2024, Commission Administration is not recommending this action be repeated as we do not expect the same issues with maintaining quorum this year in addition to the fact that this practice does not align with governance best practices. Any Commissioner may attend any meeting to ask questions an participate in any discussion, regardless of whether they are officially named to the committee.

Commissioners received correspondence asking which committees they preferred to serve on for 2024. The intent was to try and accommodate each Commissioner's first and second choice, where possible, while still ensuring a minimum of three Commissioners per committee.

Below is a summary of preferences expressed by each Commissioner, followed by a column with recommend committee compositions for 2024. For

Requested Committees	Proposed Committees
<u>Human Resources Committee</u>	<u>Human Resources Committee</u>
Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (1) Commissioner Anne-Marie Lambert (1) Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry (1) Commissioner Jo-Anne Wright (1) Commissioner Shazia Amiri (2) Commissioner Jayan Nagendran (3) Commissioner Ben Henderson (3) Commissioner David Sowemimo (3) Commissioner John McDougall (3)	Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (1) Commissioner Anne-Marie Lambert (1) Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry (1) Commissioner Jo-Anne Wright (1) Commissioner Shazia Amiri (2)
Governance Committee	Governance Committee
Commissioner Ben Henderson (1) Commissioner Shazia Amiri (1) Commissioner Anne Stevenson (1) Commissioner Michael Lee (2) Commissioner John McDougall (2) Commissioner Anne-Marie Lambert (2) Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (3) Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry (4) Commissioner David Sowemimo (4) Commissioner Jayan Nagendran (5)	Commissioner Ben Henderson (1) Commissioner Shazia Amiri (1) Commissioner Anne Stevenson (1) Commissioner Michael Lee (2) Commissioner John McDougall (2) Commissioner Anne-Marie Lambert (2)
Finance & Audit Committee	Finance & Audit Committee
Commissioner Jayan Nagendran (1) Commissioner Michael Lee (1) Commissioner Wally Sinclair (1) Commissioner Anne Stevenson (2) Commissioner Ben Henderson (2) Commissioner Anne-Marie Lambert (3) Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (4) Commissioner John McDougall (4) Commissioner Shazia Amiri (4) Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry (5) Commissioner David Sowemimo (5)	Commissioner Jayan Nagendran (1) Commissioner Michael Lee (1) Commissioner Wally Sinclair (1) Commissioner Ben Henderson (2)
Technology Committee	Technology Committee
Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry (2) Commissioner David Sowemimo (2) Commissioner Wally Sinclair (2) Commissioner Jo-Anne Wright (2)	Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry (2) Commissioner David Sowemimo (2) Commissioner Wally Sinclair (2) Commissioner Jo-Anne Wright (2)

Commissioner Anne Stevenson (3)
Commissioner Shazia Amiri (3)
Commissioner Jayan Nagendran (4)
Commissioner Ben Henderson (5)
Commissioner John McDougall (5)
Commissioner Anne-Marie Lambert (5)
Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (5)

Professional Standards Committee

Commissioner David Sowemimo (1)
Commissioner John McDougall (1)
Commissioner Jayan Nagendran (2)
Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (2)
Commissioner Michael Lee (3)
Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry (3)
Commissioner Ben Henderson (4)
Commissioner Anne-Marie Lambert (4)
Commissioner Shazia Amiri (5)

Professional Standards Committee

Commissioner David Sowemimo (1) Commissioner John McDougall (1) Commissioner Jayan Nagendran (2) Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (2)

EPC Chair [Ex-Officio]

DECISIONS REQUESTED:

- Confirm, or adjust, committee recommendations set out by Administration above.
- Confirm, or not, the recommendation on Councillors' ex-officio status reverting to existing policy.