

Guardian of Public Trust

# EDMONTON POLICE COMMISSION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

## **MINUTES**

Thursday, January 19, 2023
River Valley Room, Main Floor, City Hall
Edmonton, Alberta
9:36 A.M. to 9:55 A.M.

### **PRESENT**

Chair Erick Ambtman
Vice-Chair Aneela Hussainaly
Commissioner John McDougall
Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye
Commissioner Shazia Amiri
Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry
Commissioner Anne-Marie Lambert
Commissioner David Sowemimo
Commissioner Walter Sinclair
Councillor Anne Stevenson, Commissioner
Councillor Sarah Hamilton, Commissioner

#### **ABSENT**

Commissioner Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse

### **EPC STAFF**

Matt Barker, Executive Director
Bonnie Riddell, Strategic Policy & Research Analyst
Deanna Matchett, Public Complaint Director/Legal Counsel
John Statton, Communications Advisor
Jan Gilbert, Administrative Assistant
Chris Skaggs, Secretary to the Commission

Members of the Media

| Agenda Item | Action By |
|-------------|-----------|
|-------------|-----------|

|    | Agenda Item  | Action By             |
|----|--|-----------------------|
| 1. | CALL TO ORDER  |                       |
|    | Executive Director Barker Chaired the meeting.   |                       |
|    | He called the meeting to order at 9:36 A.M.  |                       |
| 2. | APPROVAL OF AGENDA   |                       |
|    | Members unanimously approved the agenda as presented.  |                       |
| 3. | 2023 EPC CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR ELECTION   |                       |
|    | Executive Director Barker assumed the position of elections officer and briefly outlined the election procedures.  |                       |
|    | EPC Chair Position   |                       |
|    | Executive Director Barker advised that Commissioner Erick<br>Ambtman has let his name stand for the position of Chair. There<br>being no further expressions of interest for the position<br>Commissioner Ambtman was acclaimed as Chair of the<br>Commission for the calendar year 2023.  |                       |
|    | Executive Director Barker stepped down and Commissioner Ambtman assumed the Chair.   |                       |
|    | EPC Vice-Chair Position  |                       |
|    | Executive Director Barker advised that Commissioner Amiri,<br>Commissioner Chaudhry and Commissioner Hussainaly have let<br>their name stand for the position of Vice-Chair.   |                       |
|    | Commissioner Amiri, Commissioner Chaudhry and Commissioner Hussainaly spoke briefly on the reasons they let their name stand and what they would bring to the position. Votes for the position of Vice-Chair were cast by secret paper and electronic ballot. Ms. Riddell and Ms. Skaggs counted the ballots. Chair Ambtman reported the results. Commissioner Aneela Hussainaly was elected as Vice-Chair of the Commission for the calendar year 2023. |                       |
|    | MOVED Councillor Stevenson - Commissioner Sinclair That the paper and electronic ballots cast for the position of Vice-Chair be destroyed.  CARRIED  | EPC<br>Administration |

Minutes of Annual General Meeting January 19, 2023 Edmonton Police Commission

|    | Agenda Item                        | Action By |
|----|------------------------------------|-----------|
| 4. | <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>                 |           |
|    | The meeting adjourned at 9:55 A.M. |           |

CERTIFIED as being a record of the matters dealt with at the Commission's January 19, 2023 Annual General Meeting.

Erick Ambtman Chair, Edmonton Police Commission

Chris Skaggs Secretary to the Commission