

Guardian of Public Trust

January 11, 2023

#### **MEMORANDUM**

Purpose: Action Information

TO: Edmonton Police Commission

FROM: Matthew Barker, Executive Director Edmonton Police Commission

SUBJECT: 2023 Committee Membership

#### **BRIEFING INTENT:**

• Establish EPC Committee Membership for 2023

#### **BACKGROUND:**

In January of each year Commissioner interest is determined for committee work in that calendar year. EPC currently has 5 Standing Committees. As per policy, Standing Committees shall have a minimum of 3 members.

The Chair and Councillors-Commissioners are ex-officio members of each committee. Ex-officio members have all the rights and obligations of the committee that they serve on but are not included in the count when determining the number needed for a quorum and should not be counted when determining if a quorum is present.

EPC staff sent correspondence to Commissioners asking them to signal interest in each committee. The intent was to try and accommodate each Commissioner's first and second choice, where possible, and while still ensuring a minimum of three Commissioners per committee.

Attached is a summary of preferences expressed by each Commissioner. In yellow highlight are the top choices for each Committee and are recommended for Committee membership.

#### **DECISION REQUESTED:**

• EPC confirm which Commissioners sit on each committee

#### ATTACHMENT

• Attachment - 2023 Proposed Standing Committees

# 2022 STANDING COMMITTEES STANDING COMMITTEES

## Human Resources Committee

Commissioner Aneela Hussainaly (Chair) Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye Commissioner Shazia Amiri Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry EPC Chair John McDougall (Ex-Officio)

## Governance Committee

Commissioner Shazia Amiri (Chair) Vice-Chair Erick Ambtman Commissioner Aneela Hussainaly Commissioner Ashvin Singh Commissioner Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse EPC Chair John McDougall (Ex-Officio)

## Finance & Audit Committee

Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (Chair) Vice-Chair Erick Ambtman Commissioner Ashvin Singh Commissioner Aneela Hussainaly Commissioner Shazia Amiri Councillor Anne Stevenson (Ex-Officio) EPC Chair John McDougall (Ex-Officio)

# 2023 PROPOSED STANDING COMMITTEES

### Human Resources Committee

Shazia Amiri (2) Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (2) Aneela Hussainaly (2) Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse (3) Anne-Marie Lambert (3) Irfan Chaudhry (3) John McDougall (4)

### **Governance Committee**

Shazia Amiri (1) David Sowemimo (1) Aneela Hussainaly (1) Walter Sinclair (1) John McDougall (2) Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (4) Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse (4) Anne-Marie Lambert (4) Irfan Chaudhry (4)

### Finance & Audit Committee

Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (1) Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse (2) John McDougall (3) Shazia Amiri (4) Aneela Hussainaly (4) Anne-Marie Lambert (5) Irfan Chaudhry (5)



## Professional Standards Committee

Commissioner Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse (Chair) Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry Commissioner Ashvin Singh Commissioner Shazia Amiri EPC Chair John McDougall (Ex-Officio)

## Professional Standards Committee

John McDougall (1) David Sowemimo (1) Walter Sinclair (2) Anne-Marie Lambert (2) Irfan Chaudhry (2) Kemi-Kufuor-Boakye (3) Shazia Amiri (5) Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse (5)

## Information Technology Committee

Anne-Marie Lambert (1) Irfan Chaudhry (1) Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse (1) Aneela Hussainaly (3) Shazia Amiri (3) John McDougall (5) Kemi Kufuor-Boakye (5)