

Guardian of Public Trust

EDMONTON POLICE COMMISSION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (VIA ZOOM)

MINUTES

Thursday, January 20, 2022 Edmonton Police Commission Office Scotia Place, Tower 2 Suite #1803, 10060 – Jasper Avenue Edmonton, Alberta 12:03 P.M. to 12:05 P.M.

PRESENT

(Via Zoom) Chair John McDougall Vice-Chair Erick Ambtman Commissioner Aneela Hussainaly Commissioner Ashvin Singh Commissioner Kemi Kufuor-Boakye Commissioner Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse Commissioner Shazia Amiri Commissioner Irfan Chaudhry Councillor Sarah Hamilton, Commissioner Councillor Anne Stevenson, Commissioner

EPC STAFF

(In Office Via Zoom)

Matt Barker, Executive Director (Via Zoom) Deana MacFadyen, Public Complaint Director/Legal Counsel Bonnie Riddell, Strategic Policy & Research Analyst Linsay Stoodley, Administrative Assistant Chris Skaggs, Secretary to the Commission

GUESTS (Via Zoom) Edmonton Police Service

Chief Dale McFee Deputy Chief Al Murphy, Corporate Services Bureau Deputy Chief Kevin Brezinski, Investigations Bureau Deputy Chief Darren Derko, Community Policing Bureau Chief Operations Officer Enyinnah Okere, Community Safety & Well-being Bureau Chief of Staff Justin Krikler, Legal & Regulatory Services Division Inspector Sean Armstrong, Serious Crimes Branch Executive Director Rob Davidson, Business Development Division Executive Director Lori Lorenz, Value & Impact Division Executive Director Darren Eastcott, Human Resources Division Executive Director Sean Tout, Information & Data Division Director Michael James, Corporate Communications Branch Director Louise Fitzpatrick, Audit & Risk Branch Director Julie Hallonquist, Organization & Employee Development Branch

	Agenda Item	Action By
1.	CALL TO ORDER	
	A/Chair McDougall called the meeting to order at 12:03 P.M.	
2.	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	
	Members unanimously approved the agenda.	
3.	2022 EDMONTON POLICE COMMISSION CHAIR AND VICE- CHAIR ELECTIONS	
	A/Chair McDougall stepped down as Chair and Executive Director Barker assumed the position of elections officer and Chaired the election of the Commission Chair.	
	EPC Chair Position	
	Executive Director Barker advised that Commissioner John McDougall has let his name stand for the position of Chair. There being no further expressions of interest for the position Commissioner McDougall was acclaimed as Chair of the Commission for the calendar year 2022.	
	Executive Barker advised that Chair McDougall, yesterday, was honored with the Order of Military Merit as an Officer, advising that there are three levels of the Order – Member, Officer and Commander. The Commission congratulated Chair McDougall.	
	Chair McDougall assumed the Chair.	
	EPC Vice-Chair Position	
	Chair McDougall advised that Commissioner Erick Ambtman has let his name stand for the position of Vice-Chair. There being no further expressions of interest for the position Commissioner Ambtman was acclaimed as Vice-Chair of the Commission for the calendar year 2022.	

	Agenda Item	Action By
4.	ADJOURNMENT	
	The meeting adjourned at 12:05 P.M.	

CERTIFIED as being a record of the matters dealt with at the Commission's January 20, 2022 Annual General Meeting.

John McDougall Chair, Edmonton Police Commission

Chris Skaggs Secretary to the Commission