

January 11, 2022

MEMORANDUM

Purpose: Action
☐ Information ☐

TO: Edmonton Police Commission

FROM: Matthew Barker, Executive Director

Edmonton Police Commission

SUBJECT: 2022 Committee Membership

BRIEFING INTENT:

• Establish EPC Committee Membership for 2022

BACKGROUND:

In January of each year Commissioner interest is determined for committee work in that calendar year. EPC currently has 4 Standing Committees. As per policy, Standing Committees shall have a minimum of 3 members.

The Chair and Councillors-Commissioners are ex-officio members of each committee. Ex-officio members have all the rights and obligations of the committee that they serve on but are not included in the count when determining the number needed for a quorum and should not be counted when determining if a quorum is present.

EPC staff sent correspondence to Commissioners asking them to signal interest in each committee. The intent was to try and accommodate each Commissioner's first and second choice, where possible, and while still ensuring a minimum of three Commissioners per committee.

Below is a summary of preferences expressed by each Commissioner. In yellow highlight are the top 4 or 5 choices for each Committee.

COMMITTEE LIST:

Governance Committee:

1st or 2nd Choice:

- Erick Ambtman
- Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse
- Ashvin Singh
- Aneela Hussainaly

3rd or 4th Choice:

- Kemi Kufour-Boakye
- Irfan Chaudhry
- Shazia Amiri

Human Resource Committee:

2nd Choice:

- Kemi Kufour-Boakye
- Irfan Chaudhry

3rd or 4th Choice:

- Shazia Amiri
- Aneela Hussainaly

Finance and Audit Committee:

1st or 2nd Choice:

- Erick Ambtman
- Ashvin Singh
- Kemi Kufour-Boakye
- Aneela Hussainaly
- Shazia Amiri
- Councillor Anne Stevenson (Ex-Officio)

4th Choice:

Irfan Chaudhry

Professional Standards Committee:

1st or 2nd Choice:

- Shazia Amiri
- Irfan Chaudry
- Ashvin Singh
- Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse

3rd or 4th Choice:

- Kemi Kufour-Boakye
- Aneela Hussainaly

IT Committee:

TDB at a later date.

DECISION REQUESTED:

• EPC confirm which Commissioners sit on each committee