

Guardian of Public Trust

January 7, 2021

MEMORANDUM

Purpose:Action □Information □TO:Edmonton Police CommissionFROM:Matthew Barker, Executive Director
Edmonton Police CommissionSUBJECT:2021 Committee Membership

BRIEFING INTENT:

• Establish EPC Committee Membership for 2021

BACKGROUND:

In January of each year Commissioner interest is determined for committee work in that calendar year. EPC currently has 4 Standing Committees. As per policy, Standing Committees shall have a minimum of 3 members.

The Chair and Councillors-Commissioners are ex-officio members of each committee. Ex-officio members have all the rights and obligations of the committee that they serve on but are not included in the count when determining the number needed for a quorum and should not be counted when determining if a quorum is present.

EPC staff sent correspondence to Commissioners asking them to signal interest in each committee. The intent was to try and accommodate each Commissioner's first and second choice, where possible, and while still ensuring a minimum of three Commissioners per committee.

Below is a summary of preferences expressed by each Commissioner. In yellow highlight are the top 4 or 5 choices for each Committee.

COMMITTEE LIST:

Governance Committee:

1st or 2nd Choice:

- Erick Ambtman
- John McDougall
- Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse
- Laurie Hawn
- Aneela Hussainaly

3rd or 4th Choice:

• Kemi Kufour-Boakye

Human Resource Committee:

1st or 2nd Choice:

- Kemi Kufour-Boakye
- Janet-Sue Hamilton

3rd or 4th Choice:

- Laurie Hawn
- Aneela Hussainaly
- Erick Ambtman
- John McDougall

Finance and Audit Committee:

1st or 2nd Choice:

- Erick Ambtman
- Ashvin Singh
- Kemi Kufour-Boakye
- Aneela Hussainaly

3rd or 4th Choice:

John McDougall

Professional Standards Committee:

1st or 2nd Choice:

- Janet-Sue Hamilton
- Ashvin Singh
- John McDougall
- Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse
- Laurie Hawn

3rd or 4th Choice:

- Erick Ambtman
- Kemi Kufour-Boakye
- Aneela Hussainaly

DECISION REQUESTED:

• EPC confirm which Commissioners sit on each committee